Writing, and a great editor; Photography, just a bit; Expat Life, natural disasters; Family and Friends

Vase 3It’s been a couple of weeks since my last post, I apologize for that. There have been a couple of big distractions that have dampened my ability to write one up. I’ll address these throughout this attempt.

I owe much of my writing success to a few people who have Vase 1agreed to help me by editing the first drafts of my manuscripts. I have mentioned them before but I want to give another shout out to Amanda J White, writer, author, adventuress, and one of the bravest women I know. She has returned my latest effort, the Bone Gap book, with her usual insightful comments, suggestions, and line by line edits. I started printing out the document, I still have trouble working on edits like this on a computer screen, and ran out of red ink before the printing was halfway done.

The churchI’ve scanned the first thirty pages or so of her work and as usual, agree with 95% of her notes. I already know that I still have a lot of work to do on this book to make it the best possible read for the people who will purchase it. That means publishing will in all likely hood be delayed. But, I’m still hoping that I can get the work completed and reread for typos el all, before I make the trip back to the US in August. Some things I will need to work on are character Vase 2development for three of the people in my book, a better sense of the historical moment in some areas, and setting up a reaction to some actions I have in place. As I said, a lot of work. But, thank you Amanda for helping me to become a better writer.

UpthestairsI haven’t been able to get out with the camera for the past couple of weeks as much as I would have liked. Problems with my lower back have kept me apartment bound more than I would like. I was able to get a few shots with my cell phone at the last coffee and chat that I was able to attend. I’ve also been taking a few shots of doodads around the apartment but haven’t had time to download or process them yet. The back is getting better slowly and I am hoping for a full recovery within another week or so, then, I’ll be out with the taking photos like a madman.

In my last post, I mentioned the disasters that were occurring in Peru. Since that time, it has Flood 7gotten much worse here. The entire northern half of Peru is suffering from the catastrophe brought on by a worse than Flood 4normal El Niño. The death toll has climbed to 97 and tens of thousands are now homeless. More than a half million people have been affected by the rains that are predicted to continue for another two weeks. Many are without food and water as the government struggles to bring aid to all the affected areas.

Flood 6My spirit is lifted by the help that has poured into the country from other governments. There are magnificent examples of the strength and resilience of the Peruvian people every day. Flood 3It will take years to repair all the infrastructure that has been destroyed by the floods and mudslides. Replacing people’s homes is another matter altogether. In all probability, none of those homes or businesses that have been destroyed are insured. It’s going to be a long struggle for the people of Peru.

Before the back problem decided to make a reappearance in my life, I was able to make it to a Vase 4coffee and chat with the guys at Bodega Verde MAC. Besides enjoying our usual heady banter, we were able to enjoy children at a party jumping in joy and chasing bubbles made by a professional around the grounds. Friday evening cocktails with Mona and Kelly had also been a hoot. We always have a few good laughs thrown in with our conversations on politics, sports, and the happenings in Southern Illinois. Unfortunately, I haven’t been Bougable to meet up with Kathy in over a month now. Between my excuses and hers, we will have a lot to catch up on when we finally get together again. My friend Bob mad a trip back to the US to get his lung function checked again. The news wasn’t good but we are hoping that the reason behind it was a cold he had suffered just before the trip. Azaad and Natalie are still settling into their new life in South Africa and Nadia has not only started at her new school but has braved a week at a camp, which apparently ended up being aLavender lot of fun. My family in the US is fine but apparently, they had a very exciting time trying to get some tractors unstuck after trying to trim some hedgerows.

Well, that completes another post. I hope all of you are doing well and exercising body and mind. Despite having to stop my walks while I deal with the back problem, I am still losing weight. Remember, get up and get out – move it or lose it. Sending love and peace to you all, have a great week.

Leave a Reply

