Writing, the editor’s quill; Photography; Expat Life; Family and Friends

strange-plantGoing through my manuscript with the editor’s quill this past week hasn’t been as horrible as I’d thought it would be. I’m now hallway way through and ninety percent of the things that need fixed are typing errors, run-on sentences, and a few paragraphs that need trimmed down or divided up. Of course, I still have the second half to go and I do know that they are places where I plan to expand the action which will result in needed changes to the following chapters. I’ll be happy when the yellow highlighter/red ink phase of my editing is done so that I can jump in and make the needed changes. Then I’ll send it to my excellent editors for the final go through.

Once they are working on the book, I’ll pull out the Inca Gold book I started in 2013 and bouquetresume work on it till I get the manuscripts back. The new book will require a lot of research into the black market in antiquities here in Peru as well as some knowledge on a group called Tupac Amaru. They are considered a terrorist organization that wants Peru to return to its Incan roots. I’m looking forward to writing this one because it involves one of my loves, archaeology.

on-the-way-to-starbucks-in-barrancoPhotography took a back seat again this week. A few photos taken in Barranco last Saturday and one or two here in la Molina are all I accomplished. In my defense, it’s been a busy week for me and I’ve had a lot of things to take care of that are not usually on my plate. The coming week should be better.

It seems I’m always telling you about the problems you run into when you are living as an expat. Well, to continue on that vein, I’ve had a doozy to deal with this week. Although, I should probably say my sister. When I went into my US historic-churchbank account to check on something for my income taxes, I noticed that my monthly annuity check hadn’t been deposited. When something like this happens, I always tend to panic a little more than I need. In this case, I called my sister and asked her to contact my Edward Jones’ representative to find out what had happened. To make a long story short, after many calls and FB messages and a big storm which delayed things a little, we found out that Metlife (they issued the annuity) had changed their process without notifying anyone.

fountainThey had decided to send my payments back to Edward Jones and have them deposit the money into my account. That resulted in more paper work that my sister had to take care of as well as more phone calls and some faxing. As of this writing, I still do not have my money. I’m hoping it shows up in my account tomorrow.

Here in Peru, most homes (including my apartment) do not have air conditioning. Now that we are in the throes of a very hot summer, I decided maybe it was time to bite the bullet and get one. A lengthy search for a free-standing device that perfect-pink-with-photoshopI could use in my bedroom, ended up being fruitless. The only one they had, besides being expensive, would have driven my electric bill up and required some installation that would have proved difficult. I guess I’ll have to tough it out for the next few weeks till Fall season comes.

yellow-1Friday night cocktails with Mona and Kelly were a hoot. Only six months till I’ll be able to join them in person on their patio. Saturday coffee and chat with the guys was filled with the usual hearty banter and catching up on what went on in our lives in the past week. The whole gang was there so there was a lot of things to discuss. My friend Kathy was off on a weekend jaunt so we weren’t able to meet up. I did have a great lunch with my good friend Robert Lowry at Sarcletti’s. We yellow-with-spotsenjoyed and excellent meal while we discussed things that are happening in our lives. It’s always great to have one-on-one get togethers with good friends. Despite huge storms and tornadoes rolling through Southern Illinois, my family and friends all came through it OK. That provided me with a big sigh of relief.

Well, that’s it for another week. I hope all of you are staying active physically and mentally. You only get one chance at a good life, use it. I’m still doing fantastic on my diet and exercise program so there’s no reason you can’t also – get up, get out.

Leave a Reply

