Writing, Ups and Downs Again; Photography; Expat Life; Friends and Family

20161208_144057As always with my writing, the past couple of weeks has had its ups and downs. It took me a little time to work my way out of the corner I had written myself into but that issue is resolved now. I’ve finished chapter 27 and am nearly done with 28. I have a clear vision of what needs to happen to reach the ending and have created the situation in the book that can lead to a second novel in20161203_065409_001 this line if it is received well. As I said, this is my first attempt to write a true mystery novel where the killer isn’t revealed until near the end of the novel. I’ve even incorporated a couple of surprises that I hope the reader won’t see coming.

Out of frustration, I mentioned that I might take a break from writing after this book is finished. I’m having second thoughts about that proclamation. I am hoping that I can both work on a new book and set up my easel and start painting again. Two selfie-1creative outlets might get me to work more and spend less time on the couch contemplating which show I’m going to watch on Netflix next.

I have been able to get out with the camera the past couple of weeks as well as use the cell phone camera when I’ve been out without my Canon. I also took some time to shoot some more portraits to replace my profile photos in several of my social poster-memedia accounts. I like to post a new one every six months or so just to keep people current on my appearance. I still haven’t set anything up to do some studio work. I’m sure I’ll get to it soon enough. My priority on my next creative project is to get my Christmas tree up and decorated.

The biggest thing in my life here in Peru as of late, has been dealing with the broken finger and resulting cast. I had forgotten what a pain it was to deal with a cast in everyday life. The big news, the cast is off now and the process of getting my hand back to normal has view-to-chorrillosbegun. My doctor told me earlier that I would have to do extensive physical therapy to get full use back. Foolishly, I quietly pooh poohed the thought, thinking to myself, how hard can it be? Well, now that the cast has been removed and I can feel the damage I did to my entire hand and not just the broken finger, I can tell it’s going to be awhile before I have full use of it again. I
20161205_165358can’t come close to making a fist, the hand is swollen, the fingers are stiff as a board, and anything other than the simplest of movement causes some rather sharp pain.

I’m supposed to wait two to three weeks before starting the physical therapy, the bone needs that time to heal completely. Then, a minimum of purple-flowerthree weeks with physical therapy and the doctor wants to see me again for further evaluation. I fear that if the physical therapy doesn´t improve my range of motion, he will want to do some kind of surgery. I most assuredly do not want that.

The last couple of weekends has been full of get togethers with friends here in Lima. The Saturday morning coffee and chat sessions have been well attended with super athlete Dario joining us again. Our excellent friend Mark Kennet also stopped by for a visit with us before he returned to the US. He’s enjoying his new life back in DC and may (I repeat may) be getting a new job with the government as an accountant in the FAA. We all wish him the best of luck. I’ve also the-groupenjoyed my Sunday morning chats with Kathy. We even went on a short shopping excursion at out last meeting. She been enjoying an increase in social activities. In addition, I got to chat with my good friend Kano back in the US. He’s on track to get his citizenship papers soon. Friday evening cocktails with Mona and Kelly on Friday evenings is always a blast. Kelly just received a promotion offer which he intends to accept. It will keep him from retiring for another year. Both he and Mona are happy about that. My sister and her family are all doing well. They are an active bunch with one activity or another always going on.

Well, that’s it for another post. Sorry for the skipped entry last week. There are times when the spirit just isn’t with me. I hope all of you are staying active mentally and physically. Get up, get out – do something creative. Hope you all have a fantastic week.

Leave a Reply

